Practical reference

Which Vendors Sign a HIPAA BAA, and on Which Plan

Last verified 2026-09-26. Vendor terms and prices change; every row links to its source.

Short answer: AWS, Google Cloud and Microsoft Azure all include a HIPAA Business Associate Agreement at no extra charge, accepted in the console or built into their standard terms. Most SaaS tools work differently. The BAA sits behind a business or enterprise tier, a paid add-on or a sales conversation, and a few vendors, including Postmark, Resend, Calendly and Google Analytics, say plainly that they will not sign one. Whichever vendor you pick, a BAA covers only the services it lists, so read the conditions column before any PHI reaches a product. We checked every row against the vendor's own page.

BAA availability by vendor

Showing 77 of 77 vendors.

Vendor BAA positions as stated on each vendor's own page, checked 2026-09-26.
VendorSigns a BAA?Plan that unlocks itExtra costConditionsSource
Amazon Web Services (AWS)Cloud platformsYesAny AWS account; accept the standard BAA in AWS ArtifactNo extra costPHI only in the HIPAA-eligible services named in the BAA. Other services can run in the account if they never touch PHI.Vendor page for Amazon Web Services (AWS)
Google CloudCloud platformsYesAny Google Cloud account; review and accept the BAA in the consoleNo extra costCovers the 150+ products on Google's covered list only. Google says HIPAA customers pay the same prices as everyone else.Vendor page for Google Cloud
Microsoft AzureCloud platformsYesIncluded by default in the Microsoft Product Terms and DPANo extra costNo separate contract to sign. Applies to Azure services in Microsoft's HIPAA BAA scope list only.Vendor page for Microsoft Azure
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI)Cloud platformsYesRequest through your Oracle account teamNot publishedOracle enters into a BAA for OCI customers in HIPAA scope. Keep PHI in the services and regions Oracle lists as HIPAA assessed.Vendor page for Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI)
DigitalOceanCloud platformsYesRequest from Sales (new customers) or Support (existing)Not publishedCovered list includes Droplets, Kubernetes, Spaces, Volumes and Load Balancers. Managed Databases is not on it.Vendor page for DigitalOcean
VercelCloud platformsYesPro with the HIPAA BAA add-on, or EnterprisePaid tier or add-onPro teams buy the add-on ($350/mo on Vercel's pricing page) in billing settings. Enterprise requests it from sales.Vendor page for Vercel
NetlifyCloud platformsYesEnterpriseEnterprise contractEnterprise customers handling PHI can execute a BAA through sales. Not offered on self-serve plans.Vendor page for Netlify
RenderCloud platformsYesScale or Enterprise workspace with HIPAA enabledPaid tier or add-onAdds a 20% fee on all usage in the HIPAA-enabled workspace. Render emails a BAA link after you opt in.Vendor page for Render
Fly.ioCloud platformsYesAny paid plan plus the HIPAA compliance packagePaid tier or add-onHIPAA package is $99/mo. Fly.io pre-signs the BAA; it takes effect when you sign it.Vendor page for Fly.io
HerokuCloud platformsYesHeroku Shield (a package for Heroku Enterprise)Enterprise contractOpen a ticket to sign the BAA. PHI only in Shield Private Spaces, Shield dynos and Shield data services.Vendor page for Heroku
CloudflareCloud platformsYesEnterpriseEnterprise contractBAAs for Enterprise customers only. In-scope list includes CDN, WAF, DNS, Workers, R2, D1 and Zero Trust.Vendor page for Cloudflare
SupabaseDatabases and backendsYesTeam or Enterprise plan with the HIPAA add-onPaid tier or add-onNot available on Pro. You need a signed BAA and the HIPAA add-on enabled before handling PHI.Vendor page for Supabase
FirebaseDatabases and backendsPartialThrough the Google Cloud BAANo extra costOnly Firestore and Cloud Storage for Firebase are on Google's list. Realtime Database, Hosting and Cloud Messaging are not.Vendor page for Firebase
MongoDB AtlasDatabases and backendsYesRequest from MongoDB salesNot publishedCovers Atlas, App Services, Charts, Data Lake and Atlas for Government. Beta and preview features are excluded.Vendor page for MongoDB Atlas
PlanetScaleDatabases and backendsYesAll plans, including Base; request in the dashboardNo extra costSettings, Legal, Create request. PlanetScale reviews each request; you must be a covered entity or business associate.Vendor page for PlanetScale
NeonDatabases and backendsYesScale plan; enable HIPAA in organization settingsPaid tier or add-onNo surcharge today; Neon says a 15% surcharge will apply later. The Data API and Managed Better Auth are not covered.Vendor page for Neon
CockroachDB CloudDatabases and backendsYesAdvanced planPaid tier or add-onHIPAA-ready clusters are on the Advanced plan, and Cockroach Labs signs a BAA on request.Vendor page for CockroachDB Cloud
SnowflakeDatabases and backendsYesBusiness Critical edition or higherPaid tier or add-onA signed BAA must be in place before any PHI is stored. Lower editions do not list PHI support.Vendor page for Snowflake
DatabricksDatabases and backendsYesCompliance security profile, billed as the Enhanced Security and Compliance add-onPaid tier or add-onHave an active BAA first, and enable the compliance security profile on every workspace that processes PHI.Vendor page for Databricks
Auth0 (Okta Customer Identity)AuthenticationYesEnterprise plan with the HIPAA/BAA add-onEnterprise contractNot on self-serve plans. Auth0 says HIPAA is not available on its Azure deployments.Vendor page for Auth0 (Okta Customer Identity)
Okta (Workforce Identity)AuthenticationYesPurchase of Okta's HIPAA cellEnterprise contractOkta signs a BAA with customers who buy its HIPAA cell, before they store any PHI in Okta.Vendor page for Okta (Workforce Identity)
ClerkAuthenticationYesEnterpriseEnterprise contractClerk's pricing page lists the HIPAA BAA on the Enterprise plan only.Vendor page for Clerk
Firebase AuthenticationAuthenticationPartialUpgrade to Google Cloud Identity PlatformPaid tier or add-onFirebase Authentication is not on Google Cloud's covered list. Identity Platform, its paid upgrade path, is.Vendor page for Firebase Authentication
Amazon CognitoAuthenticationYesCovered by the AWS BAANo extra costListed as HIPAA eligible on AWS's services reference.Vendor page for Amazon Cognito
WorkOSAuthenticationYesEnterprise plansEnterprise contractWorkOS says it can sign BAAs for customers on enterprise plans.Vendor page for WorkOS
StytchAuthenticationYesEnterpriseEnterprise contractStytch's pricing page lists HIPAA/BAA as an Enterprise plan feature.Vendor page for Stytch
OpenAI APIAI and LLM APIsYesAny API organization; request by email to baa@openai.comNo extra costNo enterprise agreement needed. PHI only on BAA-eligible endpoints once your org has Zero Data Retention or approved retention.Vendor page for OpenAI API
ChatGPT (Enterprise and Edu)AI and LLM APIsPartialChatGPT Enterprise or Edu with a sales-managed accountEnterprise contractOpenAI says only sales-managed Enterprise and Edu accounts qualify. It does not offer a BAA for ChatGPT Business.Vendor page for ChatGPT (Enterprise and Edu)
Anthropic Claude APIAI and LLM APIsYesFirst-party API; sign the BAA, then Anthropic enables itNot publishedCovers the Messages, Token Counting and Models APIs. Not Batch, Files, Code Execution, Computer Use or Web Fetch.Vendor page for Anthropic Claude API
Claude EnterpriseAI and LLM APIsYesEnterprise plan; Primary Owner accepts in organization settingsEnterprise contractChat, projects and artifacts are covered. MCP and other third-party integrations are not. Claude Code only with ZDR.Vendor page for Claude Enterprise
Azure OpenAI (Foundry Models sold by Azure)AI and LLM APIsYesMicrosoft BAA, included through the Microsoft DPANo extra costProcessing is governed by the Microsoft DPA that carries the BAA. Check your model and modality against Microsoft's scope list.Vendor page for Azure OpenAI (Foundry Models sold by Azure)
Gemini on Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI)AI and LLM APIsYesCovered by the Google Cloud BAANo extra costListed as "Generative AI on Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform", which is Vertex AI under its new name.Vendor page for Gemini on Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI)
Gemini API (Google AI Studio)AI and LLM APIsNoNot coveredNot applicableNot on Google Cloud's BAA covered list. For PHI, call Gemini through Agent Platform (Vertex AI) instead.Vendor page for Gemini API (Google AI Studio)
Amazon BedrockAI and LLM APIsYesCovered by the AWS BAANo extra costListed as HIPAA eligible on AWS's services reference.Vendor page for Amazon Bedrock
CohereAI and LLM APIsPartialCustom model development engagements onlyEnterprise contractThe BAA does not cover Cohere's hosted SaaS products. Cohere says not to send PHI through its SaaS services.Vendor page for Cohere
Groq (GroqCloud)AI and LLM APIsYesGroqCloud customers with a services agreement in placeNot publishedGroq publishes its BAA. Beta, preview, trial and free-of-charge features are excluded.Vendor page for Groq (GroqCloud)
Together AIAI and LLM APIsUnclearNot stated publiclyNot publishedSays it adheres to HIPAA and has BAAs with its partners, but does not say publicly that it signs BAAs with customers.Vendor page for Together AI
Hugging FaceAI and LLM APIsYesEnterprise planPaid tier or add-onHugging Face says it can offer Business Associate Addendums through an Enterprise plan. Confirm which products are in scope.Vendor page for Hugging Face
Twilio (SMS, Voice)Email, SMS and communicationYesSecurity Edition or Enterprise EditionEnterprise contractUse only products on Twilio's HIPAA Eligible list. SendGrid is not on it.Vendor page for Twilio (SMS, Voice)
SendGridEmail, SMS and communicationNoNot offeredNot applicableTwilio says it cannot sign BAAs for SendGrid and that customers should not use SendGrid with PHI.Vendor page for SendGrid
PostmarkEmail, SMS and communicationNoNot offeredNot applicablePostmark says it is not HIPAA compliant and cannot sign BAAs.Vendor page for Postmark
MailgunEmail, SMS and communicationYesNot published; contact MailgunNot publishedMailgun publishes a HIPAA BAA as an addendum to its Terms of Service. The plan it requires is not stated.Vendor page for Mailgun
Amazon SESEmail, SMS and communicationYesCovered by the AWS BAANo extra costListed as HIPAA eligible on AWS's services reference.Vendor page for Amazon SES
ResendEmail, SMS and communicationNoNot offered publiclyNot applicableResend says it cannot sign a BAA. Its Enterprise terms allow PHI only if an order form includes a signed BAA.Vendor page for Resend
Google WorkspaceEmail, SMS and communicationYesAny Workspace account; a super admin accepts it in the Admin consoleNo extra costCovers listed services such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar, Meet, Chat and Gemini in Workspace. Third-party add-ons are excluded.Vendor page for Google Workspace
Microsoft 365Email, SMS and communicationYesIncluded by default through the Microsoft DPANo extra costIn scope: Exchange Online, Teams, SharePoint, OneDrive for Business, Copilot Chat and the other services Microsoft lists.Vendor page for Microsoft 365
ZoomEmail, SMS and communicationYesPaid plans: Pro online, or Business and above through salesPaid tier or add-onPro buyers select the US BAA at checkout. Business, Business Plus and Enterprise customers sign through Zoom sales.Vendor page for Zoom
SlackEmail, SMS and communicationYesEnterprise plan (Enterprise Grid)Enterprise contractNot for talking with patients. DLP is required, and Marketplace apps are not covered by Slack's BAA.Vendor page for Slack
IntercomEmail, SMS and communicationYesExpert planPaid tier or add-onIntercom lists HIPAA support on the Expert plan. The BAA is arranged through sales or your account manager.Vendor page for Intercom
FrontEmail, SMS and communicationYesAnnual contract above Front's thresholdEnterprise contractEmail notifications, email tags and Front's native email sending cannot process PHI under the BAA.Vendor page for Front
PauboxEmail, SMS and communicationYesEvery plan, including the Email API free tierNo extra costPaubox says all customers receive a BAA at no additional charge.Vendor page for Paubox
CalendlyEmail, SMS and communicationNoNot offeredNot applicableCalendly's customer terms require that your data contain no protected health information.Vendor page for Calendly
Cal.comEmail, SMS and communicationYesEnterprise, or Organizations with 15+ users; add-on for smaller plansPaid tier or add-onBAA is $300/mo on Teams or Organizations plans under 15 users, and included on Enterprise.Vendor page for Cal.com
StripePaymentsNoNot offeredNot applicableStripe publishes no BAA, and its Services Agreement bars sending PHI as Third Party Data. Keep PHI out of Stripe entirely.Vendor page for Stripe
SquarePaymentsYesAll sellers; the BAA is part of Square's termsNo extra costApplies only to features Square marks HIPAA-enabled, such as Appointments and Invoices. Buyer-facing services are excluded.Vendor page for Square
DatadogMonitoring and analyticsYesNot published; arranged with DatadogNot publishedLog Management and Cloud SIEM are eligible, APM and about 30 others are extended eligible. Other services must not get PHI.Vendor page for Datadog
New RelicMonitoring and analyticsYesEnterprise edition with Data PlusEnterprise contractUS data region required. Your account rep must confirm the HIPAA-enabled account in writing before you send PHI.Vendor page for New Relic
SentryMonitoring and analyticsYesBusiness plan or higher (not trials)Paid tier or add-onOwners or billing contacts accept it under Legal & Compliance in settings. Only Enterprise customers can negotiate changes.Vendor page for Sentry
MixpanelMonitoring and analyticsYesEnterprise planEnterprise contractBAA offered to Enterprise Plan customers; contact sales to confirm you qualify.Vendor page for Mixpanel
AmplitudeMonitoring and analyticsYesNot published; arranged with AmplitudeNot publishedAmplitude says it can enter a BAA with covered entities and business associates, and that its AI features are covered.Vendor page for Amplitude
PostHogMonitoring and analyticsYesBoost ($250/mo), Scale or Enterprise packagePaid tier or add-onPostHog Cloud only. The managed reverse proxy and PostHog AI features are not covered.Vendor page for PostHog
SegmentMonitoring and analyticsYesBusiness tierEnterprise contractNot on Free or Team. Use only the Segment products on Twilio's HIPAA Eligible list.Vendor page for Segment
Google Analytics (GA4)Monitoring and analyticsNoNot offeredNot applicableGoogle does not offer a BAA for Analytics. Keep it off authenticated pages and pages about care.Vendor page for Google Analytics (GA4)
Microsoft ClarityMonitoring and analyticsNoNot offeredNot applicableClarity's terms bar use with health care content, and Clarity is not in Microsoft's HIPAA BAA scope.Vendor page for Microsoft Clarity
ZendeskSupport, CRM and productivityYesProfessional or higher with the Advanced Compliance add-onPaid tier or add-onSome Suite plans include the add-on. You must also turn on Zendesk's required security settings.Vendor page for Zendesk
HubSpotSupport, CRM and productivityYesEnterprise subscriptions (Marketing, Sales, Service, Data, Content or Smart CRM)Paid tier or add-onTurn on sensitive data and declare HIPAA status in settings. The BAA is part of HubSpot's Sensitive Data Terms.Vendor page for HubSpot
SalesforceSupport, CRM and productivityYesThrough your Salesforce account representativeNot publishedCovers only the services on Salesforce's HIPAA covered-services list. Check its BAA restrictions page.Vendor page for Salesforce
NotionSupport, CRM and productivityYesEnterprise planEnterprise contractFree of charge on Enterprise. Beta features are not covered and must not process PHI.Vendor page for Notion
AirtableSupport, CRM and productivityYesEnterprise ScaleEnterprise contractThe BAA sits in Airtable's Health Information Exhibit. There is no migration path from non-HIPAA workspaces.Vendor page for Airtable
Atlassian (Jira, Confluence)Support, CRM and productivityYesStandard, Premium or EnterprisePaid tier or add-onFree and trial plans are excluded. Covers Jira, Jira Service Management, Jira Product Discovery and Confluence.Vendor page for Atlassian (Jira, Confluence)
GitHubSupport, CRM and productivityUnclearNo public BAA offer foundNot publishedGitHub's DPA bars sending PHI without GitHub's prior written consent. Ask GitHub before any PHI reaches a repository.Vendor page for GitHub
1PasswordSupport, CRM and productivityNoNot applicableNot applicable1Password says it is not a business associate, and so not subject to a BAA, because it cannot decrypt vault data.Vendor page for 1Password
DocuSign eSignatureE-signature, documents and storageYesArranged through DocuSign salesNot publishedDocuSign acts as a business associate when eSignature handles PHI. It does not publish which plans include the BAA.Vendor page for DocuSign eSignature
DropboxE-signature, documents and storageYesStandard, Business, Advanced, Business Plus or EnterprisePaid tier or add-onTeam admins sign it in the Admin Console (US customers only). Reseller support can't be enabled once signed.Vendor page for Dropbox
BoxE-signature, documents and storageYesEnterprise, Enterprise Plus or Enterprise AdvancedPaid tier or add-onBox requires one of these Enterprise tiers and a signed BAA. Lower tiers are not eligible.Vendor page for Box
Google Drive (Workspace)E-signature, documents and storageYesGoogle Workspace account with the BAA acceptedNo extra costDrive, including Docs, Sheets, Slides and Forms, is on the Workspace HIPAA Included Functionality list.Vendor page for Google Drive (Workspace)
OneDrive for BusinessE-signature, documents and storageYesMicrosoft 365 commercial plans, via the DPANo extra costOneDrive for Business is in Microsoft's HIPAA scope. Consumer OneDrive is not on the list.Vendor page for OneDrive for Business
Yes
The vendor states it signs a BAA (subject to the plan and conditions shown).
Partial
Only some products or engagements are covered; read the conditions.
No
The vendor states it does not sign a BAA, or its terms bar PHI.
Unclear
The vendor's public wording does not settle it; ask the vendor in writing.
  • No extra cost: Available on a standard account of the service; no upgrade or fee stated.
  • Paid tier or add-on: Requires a specific published plan, add-on or surcharge.
  • Enterprise contract: Requires a sales-negotiated enterprise plan or contract.
  • Not published: The vendor does not publish the plan or price for its BAA.

What a BAA must contain

HIPAA sets the minimum terms for a business associate contract in 45 CFR 164.504(e). A vendor's BAA should do each of the following:

  • Set out the permitted and required uses and disclosures of PHI by the business associate. (e)(2)(i)
  • Bar any use or further disclosure beyond what the contract permits or the law requires. (e)(2)(ii)(A)
  • Require appropriate safeguards, including compliance with the Security Rule (Subpart C) for electronic PHI. (e)(2)(ii)(B)
  • Require reporting of any use or disclosure the contract does not allow, including breaches of unsecured PHI. (e)(2)(ii)(C)
  • Flow the same restrictions down to any subcontractor that handles the PHI. (e)(2)(ii)(D)
  • Support patients' rights of access, amendment and an accounting of disclosures. (e)(2)(ii)(E)-(G)
  • Open the business associate's practices and records to HHS for compliance reviews. (e)(2)(ii)(I)
  • Return or destroy PHI at termination, or extend the protections if that is not feasible. (e)(2)(ii)(J)
  • Let the covered entity terminate the contract if the business associate breaches a material term. (e)(2)(iii)

Three things a BAA does not do

  1. It does not make your application compliant. A BAA puts the vendor's obligations in writing. Access control, audit logging, encryption settings, backups, risk analysis and your own policies are still yours to build and run.
  2. It covers the listed services only. Every BAA names what is in scope. AWS, Google Cloud and Microsoft publish service lists, and SaaS vendors carve out features such as AI assistants, beta products, native email sending or marketplace apps. PHI that reaches an unlisted service is outside the agreement.
  3. It does not cover your own misconfiguration. The vendor secures its platform; you secure how you use it. A public storage bucket, an over-broad IAM role or PHI in a log line is your exposure, BAA or not.

If you're mapping a BAA-scoped architecture, that's the work we do.

Sources

Questions this page answers

Does AWS charge for a BAA?

No. AWS presents a standard Business Associate Addendum that you review and accept in AWS Artifact, and its HIPAA page lists no fee for it. Google Cloud says HIPAA customers get the same products at the same prices, and Microsoft includes its BAA in the Product Terms for every Azure customer. In all three cases, PHI may only go into the services the provider lists as covered.

Will OpenAI sign a BAA?

Yes, for the API: OpenAI reviews requests sent to baa@openai.com and does not require an enterprise agreement, but PHI may only go to BAA-eligible endpoints once your organization has Zero Data Retention or an approved retention setting. For ChatGPT, only sales-managed Enterprise and Edu accounts qualify, and OpenAI does not offer a BAA for ChatGPT Business.

Does Stripe sign a BAA?

Stripe publishes no BAA, and its Services Agreement says customers must not provide protected health information as Third Party Data. If you use Stripe, use it only to move money and keep diagnoses, visit details and other PHI out of descriptions, metadata and customer fields. HIPAA's payment-processing exemption (Social Security Act section 1179) covers moving the money, not storing health details alongside it. Square does publish a BAA for features it marks HIPAA-enabled, such as Appointments and Invoices.

Is Firebase covered by Google's BAA?

Only in part. Google Cloud's covered-products list includes Firestore and Cloud Storage for Firebase. Firebase Authentication is not on it, though Identity Platform (its paid upgrade path) is, and no other Firebase-branded product such as Realtime Database, Hosting or Cloud Messaging appears.

Which AI APIs will sign a BAA?

The OpenAI API, the Anthropic Claude API, Azure OpenAI through the Microsoft DPA, Gemini on Google's Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI), Amazon Bedrock and GroqCloud all state they offer one, each with its own endpoint and retention conditions. Cohere's BAA covers custom model engagements only, and the Gemini API through Google AI Studio is not on Google Cloud's covered list.

Can I get a BAA without an enterprise plan?

Yes, from some vendors. AWS, Google Cloud, Azure, Google Workspace and Microsoft 365 include it on a standard account, PlanetScale offers it on every plan, Paubox includes it even on its free API tier, and Square builds it into its terms. Most other SaaS tools put it behind a named paid tier, an add-on fee or an enterprise contract.